Winter Essentials

If you live in the northern hemisphere, you may have been experiencing never ending sunshine for the past forever! We’ve had months of good weather in California, but winter has finally arrived! It’s been raining a lot (even though it might not seem like it from these pictures), and I’ve finally needed a jacket to leave the house. In celebration of this well needed change in weather, I am going to show you  what I need to survive during the cold winter.

1. Chapstick

Chapstick is a necessity in my everyday life anyway, but in winter my addiction intensifies. I am that person who finishes a tube of chapstick all the way to the end without losing it. (I know this picture seems like major product promotion, but honestly Burt’s Bees is a little too waxy for me. I prefer the original Chapstick brand.)

IMG_6756

2. Slippers

My feet are always freezing, so I need fuzzy slippers! I love these ones because they are so warm and fit snuggly when I wear thick socks.

IMG_6753

3. Knit Scarves

Luckily my mom loves to knit scarves, so I have a growing supply of these cozy accessories. I love having a variety of colors, from vibrant reds to neutral grays to go with everything in my closet.

IMG_6766

4. A Good Book

Always a necessity is a good book to read while cuddled up on the couch. I chose this book I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson to spotlight because it’s the latest book I’ve read that I really loved. I’ll just give you the short summary written on the back cover: “Jude and her twin Noah are close until a tragedy drives them apart. Now they are barely speaking- and both falling for boys they can’t have. Love’s complicated.”

IMG_6763

5. Good Movies

Winter break is the perfect time to catch up on any movies you’ve wanted to see or just to watch old favorites. All the movies I’ve shown are ones that I love to watch again and again!

IMG_6761

6. Board Games

Because my family is forced to spend lots of time together during winter break, we end up playing tons of board games. I love it because we always end up laughing so much! (Or we end up so mad at each other we need to walk away.) Either way, I look forward to breaking out games like Monopoly, Spot it, and Battleship.

IMG_6750

7. DIY Crafts

With all the Secret Santa’s and White Elephants during this time of year, DIY crafts are the best way to add that personal touch. I love making things anyway, but this is a good non screen activity to keep me busy during the winter. This is a terrarium that I made as a gift. Let me know if you want a tutorial on how to make one yourself!

IMG_6776

There are so many more essentials I could add to this list, but this post would turn into pages. Instead, I’ll just leave you with these 7 of my  essentials for surviving this winter season. What do you need to survive the cold?

2EDE21F0-F420-446D-86A0-E2B93B8D2B25-1-2048x1536-oriented.png

One Reply to “Winter Essentials”

Leave a Reply

