Slam Poetry

Recently I’ve been sucked into the world of YouTube, but instead of watching makeup video after makeup video I’ve been watching tons of slam poems. I’ve always loved listening to/watching slam poems because they are so powerful. The poetic language captivates me and the topics are so interesting. From gender stereotypes to feminism to LGBTQ rights to mental health to education, there are so many topics to watch!

I’ve compiled a few slam poems for you all that I really liked watching, so enjoy!

The first one is by Dylan Garity and he addresses problems with the education system using an immigrant standpoint. These problems are still relevant now, and it’s something I’ve seen firsthand, which is why I thought this was a really powerful one.

This next one is by Blythe Baird and she talks about her personal experience with eating disorders. There is definitely a rise in awareness for mental health now, and this poem is a great way to continue to understand our misconceptions about eating disorders.

This next poem is by Megan Falley, and this one is just straight up sad. It’s called “In Fear of My Mother Being Diagnosed with Alzheimer’s Disease,” and I’m sure you can tell from the title why I say that. (Side note: Megan Falley performs very powerful and extremely feminist poems with Olivia Gatwood, so if you want to check those out, and I highly recommend you do, go visit www.speaklikeagirl.com)

The last poem has a much lighter tone than the previous ones. It’s by Sarah Kay and Phil Kaye and it’s called “When Love Arrives.” It’s cute, but still very poetic and I like it. 🙂

I hope you got something out of these poems. I hope they made you stop and just think for a second, because that’s how you know it’s a good one.

2EDE21F0-F420-446D-86A0-E2B93B8D2B25-1-2048x1536-oriented

 

2 Replies to “Slam Poetry”

Leave a Reply

