Let’s talk about…

Community College.

As I said in the last post, I do attend community college and I wanted to talk more about that.

I feel like community college gets such a bad rap (maybe just where I’m from) and it really doesn’t deserve it. I’m guilty of looking down on it too, but I’ve since changed my stance.

I used to think that community college was a last resort place where only people who flunked out of high school go. Yes, there are people like that, but there are also so many other types of people: brilliant kids who couldn’t afford a 4-year school, international kids who are trying to work the system, adults who are rekindling their passion for learning, and kids like me who ended up there by chance.

Throughout my first year in community college, I’ve been exposed to the many benefits of this route- saving money (like so much money that I don’t understand why everyone doesn’t take this route), having small class sizes (my biggest class is a 60 person lecture), and getting to scope out different majors and classes before spending lots of time and money switching in a 4 year university.

All of these benefits are great, but there are a few downsides that I’ve experienced. The biggest one is transferring.

My goal going in to JC (junior college) was to transfer out as fast as I could. This is a lot harder than it sounds. For one thing, I’m 18 years old and I have no idea what the hell I want to do for the rest of my life. Sure, I’m interested in the brain, so I just default to what I’ve heard and just say neuroscience. But my JC doesn’t offer major specific classes like Neuroscience, so I have no idea what it actually entails.

The other thing that I didn’t know going in was that each (public) college that I consider transferring to has slightly different prerequisites for the same major. So forget about transferring out in two years if you have a high unit major, because by the time you actually decide what specific major you want and what schools you want to keep open, you’ll already have been in school for a year.

I really don’t want to discourage anyone from considering community college as an option, because I truly think the positives outweigh the negatives, but I also want people to know what their getting into, because I didn’t. It’s just frustrating to go into something with no resources. But I hope this didn’t completely turn anyone off of community college.

I’m still getting used to it here, but I’ve really grown to like it.

Let me know in the comments if you have similar experiences or completely new ones!

2EDE21F0-F420-446D-86A0-E2B93B8D2B25-1-2048x1536-oriented

Leave a Reply

