Current Obsession: Thrillers… Kind of

I am not a fan of horror movies or scary books, but lately I’ve found myself leaning towards thrillers, more specifically anything with twists. I’m fascinated with the storylines and I absolutely LOVE the unexpected twists that make you question everything.

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

  • This was a super popular book a little while ago and I think it’s also being made into a movie which is exciting!
  • A quick summary (with spoilers): Rachel is the girl on the train who passes the same houses everyday to “work.” She has a very active imagination and concocts a story about a couple she idolizes, who she has named Jess and Jason. She sees Jess cheat on Jason and soon finds out that Jess is missing. Basically, Rachel’s life is already and mess and then she gets involved in a murder that ends up connecting her past with Megan and Scott- the real life Jess and Jason.
  • The twist in this book was so great because the entire story is told from Rachel’s point of view, and as a reader we have no idea she’s an unreliable source. I don’t think I’ve read a novel where the narrator was an unreliable source, so knowing that she’s a little bit crazy and prone to alcohol-related black outs was very unexpected for me. Since I don’t normally read these types of books, I loved the change in perspective that the audience went through when all of this was revealed.
  • I don’t want to give away the biggest twist, but if you haven’t read this book I highly recommend it- even if you don’t normally read suspense novels.

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

  • This book I read by chance. I didn’t bring any books to San Diego,  so I borrowed this one from my roommate and I LOVED it. I really had no idea what to expect, except that some accidents happen and there are a lot of secrets.
  • A quick summary (with spoilers): Cadence’s grandfather owns an island off of the East Coast where her extended family goes to vacation every summer. This book takes place a few summers after an accident that left Cady with amnesia and intense migraines. Lockhart weaves the past and present together to tell the story of Cady and her two closest cousins Johnny and Mirren and their honorary cousin Gat. Lockhart spends almost the entire book letting the readers get to know this close knit set of cousins only to deliver the final twist that left me and my roommate questioning everything.
  • I don’t want to give it away in case you haven’t read it, but I’ll just say that after I finished this book my roommate and I talked for like an hour about every detail that hinted at this unexpected ending.

Now You See Me

  • This heist movie about magicians doesn’t seem like a thriller or suspense movie, but I’m including it in this list due to the huge surprise ending.
  • My roommates and I just watched this movie together and I think this is my third time seeing it. One of my roommates had never seen it before, and watching this movie through her eyes reminded me how great of a twist this movie has.
  • I needed to watch this movie a couple of times in order to understand the plot line, so watching it with someone who is seeing it for the first time is a great way to relive that shock, and that’s the sad thing about thrillers- once you see it, there’s no way to be as surprised again and that’s the best part of thrillers!

Alfred Hitchcock Presents

  • My dad recently introduced me to this 1950s TV series since it’s now available on Netflix. The only Alfred Hitchcock movie I’ve seen is Rear Window, and as a scared 7th grader I really hated it.
  • Now, I’m older and I have a greater appreciation for his work, which is why I’ve seen quite a few of these 30 minute episodes. I love that these are all in black and white, and that it was filmed in the 50’s, even though this time period is infamous in it’s portrayal of women.
  • Hitchcock portrays some women as smart and powerful, which surprised me. What I like the best about this show is the storylines though. Some of the episodes are just weird and they are so different than the suspense TV shows we have today. There’s a lack of background music and the show does move a lot slower, but I think it’s all a part of the charm.

 

Let me know what your favorite genre is right now or if you have any suggestions for books, TV shows, or movies!

2EDE21F0-F420-446D-86A0-E2B93B8D2B25-1-2048x1536-oriented

3 Replies to “Current Obsession: Thrillers… Kind of”

  1. ooh i love thrillers too!! 🙂
    all time fav genre ❤

    u should check out "Bates Motel" its a T.V series based earlier life of Norman Bates from the movie "Psycho"(Alfred Hitchcock)

    Like

Leave a Reply

